Program Detail

17th ASNEngr Annual Conference (2024) Progream Detail will share soon

16th ASNEngr Annual Conference Program Details

Time Details


July 28, 2023 (Friday) – Arrival at the hotel. Opportunity to connect and networking

July 29, 2023 (Saturday)

Set up, Preparation and Registration

7:30:00 AM – 8:30 AM

Set up, Registration and Preparation

Welcome and Opening Remarks

8:40 AM

Welcome and Housekeeping by Sagar Khadka, GWDC Chapter President & Local Chair

8:45 AM

Opening Remarks and Conference Kickoff by Raju Joshee, Conference General Chair

8:55 AM

Overview of Technical Program Schedule by Upendra Poudel, Conference Technical Chair

9:00 AM

ASNEngr and Our Mission by Surya Thapa, ASNEngr President

9:10 AM

ASNEngr and Our Accomplishments by Thakur Dhakal, ASEngr Past President

9:20 AM

Address by Ghanashyam Paudel Member of External Affairs and past President of Society of Nepalese Engineers UK (SONEUK)

Chief Guest and Distinguished Guest

9:30 AM

Address by Chief Guest, Mr. Kumar P Kharel, Deputy Chief of Mission, Embassy of Nepal, Washington, D.C.

9:45 AM

Address by Distinguished Guest, Harry Bhandari, PhD, Maryland State Delegate and Chair of Maryland Legislative Asian-American & Pacific-Islander Caucus

9:55 AM

Award Distribution Program by Mangal Maharjan ( Outstanding Performance Award and Society Leadership Award)

10:00 AM

Break (5 minutes)

Technical Session 1: Engineering and Construction (Session Chairs: Thakur Dhakal, Dr. Krishna Prasad Dhakal)

10:05 AM

Announcement of Technical Session & Chair by Upendra Poudel

10:07 AM

Technical Session 1 – Announcement by Session Chair

10:10 AM

Water, Energy, Food, and Ecosystem (W-E-F-E) Nexus River Basin Development Policy Paradigm for Multisector Infrastructure Development of Nepal- Dr. Gopi Upreti, Professor Emeritus at Institute of Agriculture and Animal Sciences (IAAS), Tribhuvan University, Kirtipur, Kathmandu, Nepal, and Senior Data Scientist with Mantech Intrernational Corporation in USA

10:30 AM

Managing river basins under the federal system of governance in Nepal- Dr. Sanjay Giri, River Basin Specialist, Royal Haskoning DHV, The Netherlands

10:45 AM

Challenges in Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Floodplain Modeling and Mapping- Dr. Vinod Mahat, PE, CFM, Stantec, Laurel, MD

11:00 AM

Strengthening of Concrete Column: Which way to choose? – Utsab Pokharel | Shradha Koirala

11:15 AM

Break (5 minutes)

Keynote Speech

11:20 AM

Keynote Speech – Arun Shrestha, CEO & Co-Founder, BeyondID

11:45 AM – 2:00 PM

Lunch & Networking

Poster Presentation

Networking, Judging of Poster Presentation

Technical Session 2 – Engineering, Data Analytics and Management (Session Chairs: Ranjan Pokharel, Bhaskar Joshi)

2:00 PM

Technical Session 2 – Announcement by Session Chair

2:05 PM

Real-time Low-cost Wireless Joint Monitoring System for Highway Bridge Performance – Prakash Bhandari, PhD Student, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Connecticut, CT | Shinae Jang, PhD, P.E., Associate Professor-in-Residence, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Connecticut, CT| Song Han, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, University of Connecticut, CT | Ramesh B. Malla, PhD, F. ASCE, F. EMI, A.F. AIAA, F. ASNEngr, Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Connecticut, CT

2:20 PM

Security in Private 5G Networks – Jiwan Limbu Ninglekhu, PhD, Senior Cyber Risk Advisory Specialist, Deloitte

2:35 PM

Data Analytics – Construction Engineering – Aashish Pathak, PE

2:50 PM

A unified science of matter, life and evolution – Ram C Poudel, PhD., Assistant Professor, Department of Sustainable Technology and the Built Environment, Applachian State University, Boone, NC

3:05 PM

Break (05 minutes)

Fireside Chat

3:10 PM – 4:10 PM

Fireside Chat – Kulmani Acharya, Kris Ghimire, and Dr. Deepak Shrestha

Technical Session 3 – Energy, Production, distribution and Management (Session Chairs: Dilli Raman Neupane, Deependra Pokharel)

4:10 PM

Technical Session 3 – Announcement by Session Chair

4:15 PM

Virtual Power Plants: Harnessing Distributed Energy Resources for Grid Flexibility – Santosh Dhakal, PE, MBA- President, NU Engineering LLC

4:30 PM

Wind energy as a source of green hydrogen production in the USA -Dr. Rabin Dhakal, Senior Scientist, Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI)

4:45 PM

Floating Solar Photovoltaic System in Nepalese Context – Dr. Bijaya Paudyal, Enel Green Power, Andover, MA

Public Service Announcement/ Information

5:00 PM

The United States Public Health Service (USPHS) Commissioned Corps- Americas Health Responders, Presentation by CDR Praveen K. C., P. E., CEM, LEED GA, COR-II, Senior Mechanical Engineer, Sustainable and Transportation Solutions Branch, United States Environmental Protection Agency

Happy Hour, Networking Session & Dinner

5:15 PM – 7:00 PM

Happy Hour and Networking (Cash Bar)

7:00 PM – 11:00 PM

Cultural Program
Certificate Distribution
DJ Night

July 30, 2023 (Sunday)

9 AM – 11 AM

Program Wrap up by ASNEngr EC, BoD, Advisors and Conference Team



11 AM onwards