

ASNEngr Board of Directors (BOD) Meeting Minutes

Date: Feb 19, 2023 (Zoom meeting)

Location: Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 885 7005 6841 Passcode 484336 One tap mobile +16699006833.,88570056841#

1. BOD Meeting Call to order and Roll call.

- 1.1. Meeting call to order by the President/Chair, Surya Thapa at 9:05 PM
- 1.2. Roll call by General Secretary, Ananda Paudel, attendance shown below:

Board Of Directors			Committee & Chapter
Surya Thapa (OH), Chair	- P	Shyam Sharma (OR) -P	Committee
Mangal Maharjan (MD)		Raju Joshee (MD) -P	Shyam Sharma -P
Ananda Paudel (CO)	- P	Nipesh Pradhananga (FL) -E	Ramesh B. Malla (CT) - P
Srijana Khatiwada (GA)	- E	Jagannath Ghimire (TX) - A	Santosh Dhakal -P
Prashnna Gyawali (CA)	- E	Om Dahal (IN) - P	Narayan Pokharel -P
Shubha Adhikari	- E	Pradeep Khanal (CA) - A	Garima Sharma (IL) - P
Thakur Dhakal (VA)	- A	Prakash Khanal (MD) - P	Deependra Pokharel (VA) -A
Kiran Adhikari (IL)	- P	Prakash Malla (GA) - P	Tribal Naharki -P
Nirajan Aryal (NC)	- P	Rabin Bhattarai (IL) - P	Kul Mani Acharya (MD) -P
Om Dhodary (NY)	- P	Sandeep Pyakurel (VA) -A	Garima Sharma -P
Utsab Pokharel (NJ)	- P	Sanjaya Gajurel (OH) - P	Upendra Poudel (VA) - P
Uttam Sedai (VA)	- P	Shesh Koirala (TX) -A	
Ananta Baidya (CA)	- P	Sukirti Dhital (NJ) -P	<u>Chapters</u>
Santosh Dhakal (MD)	-P	Upendra Karna (NJ) -P	Madan Baral, - A
Bishnu Phuyal (IL)	-P	Bijay Giri (MI) -P	Samir Rawal -P
		Asmita Rokaya (CT) -A	Sagar Khadka(VA) P
BOD 31: Present(P) 21, absent(A) 6, Excused(E) 4			

- 2. Old Business (approvals of minutes and unresolved actions from the last meeting)
 - 2.1. Motion to approve the <u>BOD meeting minutes of Nov 6, 2022</u> was moved by Om Dhodary and seconded by Mangal Maharjan. The motion was unanimously approved.
 - 2.2. Motion to approve the committee chairs for the 2023-2025 term (see section 3.1) was moved by Prakash Malla and seconded by Mangal Maharjan. The motion was unanimously approved.
 - 2.3. Motion to approve the Greater Chicago Chapter Committee and Greater Houston Chapter Committee for 2023-2025 term (see Appendix A & B) was moved by Upendra Karna and seconded by Om Dhodary. The motion was unanimously approved.
 - 2.4. Motion to approve the Theme, Venue, and Date for the ASNEngr 16th Annual Conference was moved by Sanjaya Gajurel and seconded by Mangal Maharjan. The motion was unanimously approved.

Theme: "Integrating Science and Technology for Socio-Economic Advancement" Venue: Baltimore, MD Date: July 29-30, 2023

- 2.5. Motion to accept the resignation submitted by Shesh Koirala (TX), BOD Member, 2022-2024, effective on Monday February 6, 2023 was moved by Mangal Mahrajan and seconded by Santosh Dhakal. The motion was unanimously approved.
- 3. New Business (updates from officers and committee chairs- task description and justification)
 - 3.1. Committee updates: Committee chairs selected for 2023-2025 term are as follows:
 - 3.1.1. Awards, Grants, and Scholarships Committee Shyam Sharma (OR)
 - 3.1.2. Bylaws Amendment & Membership Standard Committee-Ramesh B. Malla (CT)
 - 3.1.3. Fundraising and Financial Oversight Committee Santosh Dhakal (MD)
 - 3.1.4. Liaison Committee Kul Mani Acharya (MD)
 - 3.1.5. Nepal Liaison Committee -Narayan Pokharel (CA)
 - 3.1.6. Magazine/Newsletter Committee-Tribal Naharki (NY)
 - 3.1.7. Membership Review Committee-Deependra Pokharel (VA)
 - 3.1.8. Outreach and Membership Recruitment Committee-Bishnu Phuyal (IL)
 - 3.1.9. Student Committee-Garima Sharma (IL)
 - 3.1.10. Technical Committee-Rabin Bhattarai (IL)
 - 3.1.11. Website and Database Committee-Prashnna Gyawali (CA)
 - 3.2. Conference Committee- Raju Joshee (MD), Upendra Poudel (VA), Sagar Khadka (VA) Steering Committee Formation with the following representation:
 - All officers and members at large in the Executive Committee
 - Santosh Dhakal, Fundraising, and Financial Oversight Committee Chair
 - Kulmani Acharya, Liaison Committee Chair
 - Bishnu Phuyal, Outreach, and Membership Recruitment Committee Chair
 - Rabin Bhattarai, Technical Committee Chair,
 - Prashanna Gyawali, Website, and Database Committee Chair
 - Garima Sharma, Student Committee Chair
 - Shyam Sharma, AGS Committee Chair
 - Upendra Paudel, Conference Technical Committee Chair
 - Ashok Dhakal, Conference Technical Committee Co-Chair
 - Raju Joshee, Conference General Chair
 - Sanjaya Shrestha, Conference General Co-Chair
 - All past presidents and past general/technical chairs
 - Local Chair
 - 3.3. Chapter updates
 - 3.3.1. Greater Chicago-Madan Baral
 - 3.3.2. Greater Houston Nawaraj Pant
 - 3.3.3. Greater New York Om Dhodary
 - 3.3.4. Greater Washington DC- Sagar Khadka
- **4. Action Items** (Any solution, next steps with specific assignees, and approximate time frame)
 - Shyam Sharma to call a meeting for Awards, Grants, and Scholarships Committee and formulate a plan for next year programs- Meeting held April 30, 2023, Graduate Student Research Fellowship will be combined with Research and Development Collaboration Program starting 2023. Executive Committee Approved up to (\$5000) for 2023 funding. Call for proposals coming soon. Merit award submission date extended to May 31, 2023.
 - Surya Ji will provide membership email address to Upendra Paudel for conference communication.
 Done
 - Conference Committee to finalize date, venue and announce the Call for Abstract,
 - Tentative Dates: Abstract submission Starts Feb 25th, deadline April 15, Review May 6, notify Author May 20

- Conference committee to prepare a work plan & budget. The program budget to break even if not generate proceeds
- Executive Committee to set goal for the fundraising committee and everyone to contribute- NTR
- Narayan Pokharel to explore possibility of collaboration and support to Lumbini Technological University -NTR
- Newsletter committee to finalize a Newsletter by the end of March: Done
 - Help needed; president's message, sponsor's list from 2022 conference, job posting
 - Committees and chapters to send their announcement of activities to the newsletter committee for publicity
- Student committee to host a resume building session (Done). Help needed for resume review and professional resume writer hiring
- DC Chapter will
 - Host Engineers Night in April 22, 2023 (Done)
 - Host an interaction with Transportation Secretary of Nepal Kasheb Shrestha (Done)
 - Explore establishing Greater Philadelphia chapter (NTR)
- Sahjaya to resent Highway related proposal to Surya Ji (NTR)
- Sukriti to step up benevity.org account explore Intel & Apple match (2:1) (Done)
- Committee chairs to provide updates to the agenda one week prior to the BOD meeting
- Everyone to attend webinar next Sunday 10 AM (Done)
- 5. A tentative schedule of the next BOD meeting: May 07, 2023, 09:00 PM EST
- **6. Meeting Closure:** Meeting adjourned by the president at 11:02 pm

Meeting Minutes Prepared by Dr. Ananda Paudel, General Secretary American Society of Nepalese Engineers (ASNEngr) P.O. Box 1606, Centreville, VA 20120

02/19/2023

Appendix A: Greater Chicago Chapter Committee for 2023-2025 term

President: Madan Baral

Vice President: Prasanna Subedi & Manoj Khadka

Secretary: Kiran Adhikari Treasurer: Om Dahal

Board of Directors: Binod Bstakoti Raj Acharya Komal Dutta Khusbu Shah Shreejan Ahikari Munesh Acharya

Lalan Dev Megha Chapagai Nitesh Pant

Bikash Rana

Advisory Board Members: Bishnu Phuyal Ankur Sharma Yagna Panta

Appendix B: Greater Houston Chapter Committee for 2023-2025 term

President: Samir Rawal

Vice President: Nawaraj Panta, PE Secretary: Prakash Bhat, PE Treasurer: Abdul Ansari

Members: Anusha Pokhrel, Ripendra Awal, Raju Regmi, Sahas Shrestha, PEDr., Vijay Jha, PE,

Immediate Past President: Subash Paudel, SE