

## ASNEngr Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Date: July 31, 2022 (Zoom meeting)

Location: <u>Join Zoom Meeting</u>
Meeting ID: 251 231 7040 and Passcode: 712742
One tap mobile: +19292056099,2512317040#,\*712742#

Meeting Called to order by BOD Chair, Surya Thapa at 9:15 PM EST

In the introduction section of the meeting, senior member Mr. Jagannath Ghimire provided historical perspectives of the society. The immediate past president Mr. Thakur Dhakal presented society's recent accomplishments and the new president, Mr. Surya Thapa shed some light on the current status of the society and presented a list of the upcoming programs. Rest of the members introduced themselves, shared their interests and expressed a commitment to the society.

## Attendance:

Position	Directors	Attendance	Interest and commitment expressed
President/Chair	Surya Thapa (OH)	Present (P)	Overarching
Vice President	Mangal Maharjan (MD)	P	Guidelines, Fundraising
Secretary	Ananda Paudel (CO)	P	Coordinate Committee and enable them
Joint Secretary	Srijana Khatiwada (GA)	P	Social media, EHS
Treasurer	Prashnna Gyawali (CA)	P	Budget/ Website
Info Secretary	Shubha Adhikari	P	Website, NEAR Nepal
Imm. Past President	Thakur Dhakal (VA)	Р	International Liaison
Directors	Ananta Baidya (CA)	P	Nepal Liaison
Directors	Asmita Rokaya	P	Conference, advising
Directors	Bijay Giri (MI)	Absent (A)	
Directors	Bishnu Phuyal (IL)	P	Outreach, Advocate and connect
Directors	Jagannath Ghimire (TX)	P	funding, <u>summer internship</u> , Nepal Engineering Council- exam
Directors	Kiran Adhikari (IL)	P	Nepal Liaison, Technical committee
Directors	Nipesh Pradhananga (FL)	P	Technical committee, conference, webseries, EHS
Directors	Nirajan Aryal (NC)	P	Outreach, database, conference
Directors	Om Dahal (IN)	P	Chapter, open to any projects
Directors	Om Dhodary (NY)	P	Chapter, EHS

Directors	Pradeep Khanal (CA)	P	Outreach in bay area, webinar, advising
Directors	Prakash Khanal (MD)	A	
Directors	Prakash Malla (GA)	P	Technical committee, career path, Connecting to other associations
Directors	Rabin Bhattarai (IL)	P	Technical committee, Research and development collaboration grant, EHS
Directors	Raju Joshee (MD)	P	Other association, conference, internship,
Directors	Sandeep Pyakurel (VA)	NA	
Directors	Sanjaya Gajurel (OH)	P	Guidelines, communication, policy
Directors	Santosh Dhakal (MD)	P	Remain active
Directors	Shesh Koirala (TX)	P	Technical committee
Directors	Shyam Sharma (OR)	P	Scholarships, grants, awards
Directors	Sukirti Dhital (NJ)	P	Outreach in southern CA. Conference
Directors	Upendra Karna (NJ)	Р	Policy, overarching support
Directors	Utsab Pokharel (NJ)	P	Website, Job search portal
Directors	Uttam Sedai (VA)	P	Chapter, outreach-networking

Total Present 28/31

Note: Members remaining absent in three consecutive meetings will lose the BOD membership.

**Old Business** (minutes and unresolved actions from last meeting and approvals)

 Approval of BOD meeting minutes of June 5, 2022: Thakur Dhakal moved the motion and Mangal Maharjan seconded the action. The motion was unanimously approved with the following grammatical corrections: item #3 change meeting minutes "on" to "of" April 17, 2022 Item #6 change training "to" to "for" Moderators Item #5 New York, delete "Metro"
 Corrections made and Minutes archived

2. Selection of 2022-2024 Executive Committee Members at Large: Six nominations were received for five positions. Thakur Dhakal moved the motion, which was seconded by Mangal Maharjan. During discussion Upendra Karna graciously withdrew his nomination and the following five names were unanimously approved:

Om Dhodary (NY), Uttam Sedai (VA), Utsab Pokharel (NJ), Nirajan Aryal (NC), Kiran Adhikary (IL)

**New Business** (reports from officers, committees or others updates)

Following Recent Activities were shared with the BOD for situational awareness:

- Financial support provided to Hult Prize accelerator winners (\$1000) -Mangal Maharjan
- Mahabir Pun meet and greet and Facilitation Program held on June 23, 2022 Mangal Maharjan
- Merit Awards 2022 provided for Admission Year 2021 (five winner \$500 each) Thakur Dhakal
- GSRF second installment payments made to Pramod Tiwari (2020) and Biplav Pokharel & Apekshya Ghimire (2021), \$500 each (Total \$1000) Shyam Sharma
- The Executive Committee approved the establishment of the Environment, Health and Safety (EHS) Committee, effective immediately.

**Action Items** (Any solution, next steps with specific assignees, and approximate time frame)

## **Tentative schedule of the upcoming Board meeting:**

Oct 30, 2022 09:00 PM EST

Meeting adjourn 11:15 pm

Meeting Minutes Prepared by Dr. Ananda Paudel, General Secretary American Society of Nepalese Engineers (ASNEngr) P.O. Box 1606, Centreville, VA 20120

8/3/2022